English

The Association of Banks in Hesse (Bankenverband Hessen e. V.) is the professional association of private banks operating in the state of Hesse with their registered office in Frankfurt am Main.The association has 112 members which employ a total of around 39,000 employees and include big banks, regional banks, mortgage banks, private bankers and branches of almost all major foreign banks.Expanding and enhancing the importance of Frankfurt am Main as a financial centre is the main focus of the association’s work. more »

News

Celebration to mark the change of presidency at the Hesse Regional Office of Deutsche Bundesbank on 3 May 2019

Tilmann Wittershagen_Amtswechselfeier

At the celebration to mark the handover of presidency from Diana Rutzka-Hascher to Thomas Ollinger, Tilmann Wittershagen, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Association of Banks in Hesse and Spokesman for the Central Region Management of Deutsche Bank AG, thanked Ms Rutzka-Hascher for the long-standing cooperation with the Hesse Regional Office of Deutsche Bundesbank. He went on to speak about banking supervision and regulation, the low interest rate environment and the challenges of digitalisation. more »

Bettina Orlopp at “Frankfurt meets Berlin” on 2 May 2019 in Berlin

Bettina_Orlopp_Frankfurt_meets_Berlin

On 2 May, Bettina Orlopp took part in a fascinating panel discussion at the “Frankfurt meets Berlin” event in Berlin – a valuable initiative which seeks to build further bridges between Germany’s political and financial capitals. In their opening speeches, Federal Finance Minister Olaf Scholz and Mayor of Frankfurt Peter Feldmann underlined their support for Frankfurt as a business and financial centre. In the subsequent panel discussion alongside Bettina Stark-Watzinger, Member of the Bundestag for the FDP, Joachim Wuermeling, Member of the Executive Board of Deutsche Bundesbank, and other representatives from the business community, Bettina Orlopp stressed that a strong banking industry is hugely important to Frankfurt’s position as a financial centre. She said policymakers now needed to further strengthen its role as a business location, especially with respect to issues currently as important as digitalisation and Brexit. more »

Seminar for teachers

The Association of Banks in Hesse once again held a three-day advanced seminar for teachers of finance and economics at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management from 15 to 17 April 2019. The traditional joint reception was hosted by Frank Behrends, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Association of Banks in Hesse and Member of the Board of Directors of ODDO-BHF AG. This year’s event focused on themes relating to society, banks and digital trends. The next event is scheduled for 7 to 9 October 2019. more »

Lehrerseminar 15.-17. April 2019

21 March 2019 – New leadership of the Association of Banks in Hesse

  • Bettina Orlopp elected new Chairman

    Bettina Orlopp
     
  • Sarah Schmidtke takes over management of the regional association

    Sarah Schmidtke

The Members’ Assembly of the Association of Banks in Hesse has elected Bettina Orlopp, Member of the Board of Managing Directors of Commerzbank AG, as its new Chairman. The Board of Directors of the Association of Banks in Hesse has also appointed Sarah Schmidtke new Managing Director of the association from 1 April 2019. more »

3rd Hesse Banking Congress 2019

The 3rd Hesse Banking Congress on 21 March 2019 honoured the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management’s top graduates of 2018 in Banking Studies, Banking Business Administration and Management: Ulrike Kirchner, Jan Szybalski and Marc Janich. They were congratulated by Frank Behrends, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Association of Banks in Hesse and Member of the Board of Directors of ODDO-BHF AG, and Professor Nils Stieglitz, President and Managing Director of the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management.

Karlheinz Walch, Deputy Head of Banking and Financial Supervision at Deutsche Bundesbank, then gave a speech entitled “Are we on the verge of a turning point? Current developments in banking supervision”. The subsequent reception offered an opportunity for further discussion. more »

2019-03-21 3. Hessischer Bankentag

Bankenverband Hessen

Der Bankenverband Hessen e. V. ist die berufsständische Organisation der in Hessen tätigen Kreditinstitute in privater Rechtsform mit Sitz Frankfurt am Main. Dem Verband angeschlossen sind 112 Mitglieder mit rund 39.000 Beschäftigten von Großbanken, Regionalbanken, Hypothekenbanken, Privatbankiers und Niederlassungen fast aller großen Auslandsbanken. Schwerpunkt der Verbandsarbeit ist der Ausbau und die Stärkung der Bedeutung des Finanzplatzes Frankfurt am Main. mehr »

Aktuelles

Amtswechselfeier in der Hauptverwaltung Hessen der Deutschen Bundesbank am 3. Mai 2019

Tilmann Wittershagen_Amtswechselfeier

Tilmann Wittershagen, Stellvertretender Vorsitzende des Bankenverbandes Hessen und Sprecher der Geschäftsleitung Region Mitte der Deutsche Bank AG, dankte Frau Rutzka-Hascher für die jahrelange gute Zusammenarbeit mit der Hauptverwaltung Hessen der Deutschen Bundesbank bei der Amtswechselfeier von Frau Rutzka-Hascher und Herrn Dr. Ollinger. Weiterhin sprach er über Bankenaufsicht und Regulatorik, das Niedrigzinsumfeld  sowie Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung.

Dr. Orlopp bei „Frankfurt meets Berlin“, Berlin 2. Mai 2019

Bettina_Orlopp_Frankfurt_meets_Berlin

Am 2. Mai nahm Bettina Orlopp an einer spannenden Podiumsdiskussion im Rahmen der Veranstaltung „Frankfurt meets Berlin" in Berlin teil. Eine gute Initiative, um weitere Brücken zwischen der Bundeshauptstadt und der Finanzhauptstadt zu schlagen. So sprachen sich auch Bundesfinanzminister Olaf Scholz und Frankfurter Oberbürgermeister Peter Feldmann in ihren Reden für den Wirtschafts- und Finanzstandort Frankfurt aus. In der anschließenden Paneldiskussion mit Bettina Stark-Watzinger, die für die FDP im Bundestag sitzt, Prof. Dr. Joachim Wuermeling, Mitglied des Vorstands der Deutschen Bundesbank, und weiteren Vertretern aus der Wirtschaft betonte Bettina Orlopp, dass eine starke Bankenbranche enorm wichtig für den Finanzplatz Frankfurt sei. Die Politik müsse nun den Standort Frankfurt weiter stärken, vor allem auch in den aktuell so wichtigen Themen wie Digitalisierung und Brexit.

Lehrerseminar

Lehrerseminar

Der Bankenverband Hessen veranstaltete vom 15. – 17. April 2019 abermals eine dreitägige Fortbildungsveranstaltung für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer im Bereich Finanzen und Wirtschaft in der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Der traditionelle gemeinsame Empfang wurde von Herrn Frank Behrends, Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Bankenverbandes Hessen und Mitglied des Vorstands ODDO BHF Aktiengesellschaft, begleitet. Bei der diesjährigen Veranstaltung standen Themen zu Gesellschaft, Banken und digitalen Trends im Fokus (zum Programm). Die nächste Fortbildungsveranstaltung ist geplant für den 07.-09. Oktober 2019.

Neue Führung beim Hessischen Bankenverband

Die Mitgliederversammlung des Hessischen Bankenverbandes hat Dr. Bettina Orlopp, Mitglied des Vorstands der Commerzbank AG, zur neuen Vorsitzenden gewählt und zudem Sarah Schmidtke zum 1. April 2019 als neue Geschäftsführerin des Bankenverbandes Hessen bestellt. mehr »

3. Hessischer Bankentag 2019

Beim 3. Hessischen Bankentag am 21. März 2019 wurden die jahrgangsbesten Absolventen 2018 in Hessen für die Studiengänge Bankfachwirt, Bankbetriebswirt und Management der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management geehrt: Frau Ulrike Kirchner, Herrn Jan Szybalski und Herrn Marc Janich. Es gratulierten Herr Behrends, Stellvertretender Vorsitzende des Bankenverbandes Hessen und Mitglied des Vorstands ODDO BHF Aktiengesellschaft und Prof. Dr. Stieglitz, Präsident und Geschäftsführer der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management.

Im Anschluss referierte Herr Karlheinz Walch, Ständiger Vertreter des Zentralbereichs Banken- und Finanzaufsicht, Deutsche Bundesbank, über das Thema „Stehen wir vor einer Zäsur? Aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Bankenaufsicht“. Der sich anschließende Empfang bot Anlass für weitere Gespräche.